Unsaturated fats

According to the number of double bonds, unsatured fatty acids are divided into two families:

Monounsaturated fatty acids (MUFA)
Polyunsaturated fatty acids (PUFA)

Monounsaturated fatty acids (MUFA)

These kinds of acids have one double bond between two carbons in their chain : C=C
MUFA tend to be fluid.

Polyunsaturated fats (PUFA)

They have two or more double bonds.
They are liquid at room temperature and when refrigerated.

Realized by Laurence LIVERNAIS-SAETTEL, dietetian
© Copyright L. Livernais-Saettel 2000
Site hébergé par MaVille-Online.